

2019 - 42

April 18, 2019 File: AS-18

ALASKA AIRLINES NEGOTIATIONS

Sisters and Brothers:

The joint Alaska Airlines Negotiating Committee opened negotiations with Alaska Airlines management April 16-17,2019, in Seattle, Washington.

Represented by the Company were: Shane Tackett, Executive Vice President/Strategic Planning; Jenny Wetzel, Vice President/Labor; Wayne Newton, Vice President/AOCS; Jason Berry, Managing Director/Cargo; Jeanne Davis, Director/Call Centers; Bob Hartnett, Director/Labor; Denise Kliskey, COPS Labor Manager; Rebecca Meissner, Senior Attorney; and Melinda Maher, Division Controller.

Joining your Negotiating Committee were: James Carlson, Assistant Airline Coordinator; Kris Hannah, Grand Lodge Representative; and Brianna Gregory, Grand Lodge Representative.

The discussion this week centered around the biggest outstanding issue still open - **Protecting** our Work. The Company's latest proposal, while moving in the right direction, unfortunately still affords the Company the right to outsource work under certain conditions. Your Committee asked questions and relayed concerns, however, the Company was unable to answer some of our questions and concerns during this session. Alaska Management has committed to providing answers to our questions during our next session.

We will continue to convey to the Company that without work protection, the membership does not have a secure future. Anything short of an absolute secure future is unsatisfactory.

Remember, no work = no careers.

The next negotiations session is scheduled for April 29-May 1, 2019, in Seattle, Washington.

There is one source of official communications regarding these negotiations – that is those issued by your Negotiating Committee.

Remember: United we stand, divided we beg.

In Unity.

Jeff Tobius **GENERAL CHAIR**

Justin Bates (ANC)

Jesse Wilson (ANC) Jason McAdoo (JNU) Dan Suafoa (SEA) Enrique Rebollo (SEA) Nisha Chaudry (SFO) Jennifer Araujo (LAX) Jackson Hartsfield (LAX) Joe Shultz (PHX) Linda Romaniello (FLL)

NEGOTIATING COMMITTEE

JT/slb S. Pantoja cc: J. Tiberi T. Klima District 142 Executive Board opeiu #277

POST ON ALL IAM BULLETIN BOARDS