

UR TRANSPORT



DISTRICT LODGE 142

2018 - 34

March 16, 2018 File: AS-18

ALASKA AIRLINES NEGOTIATIONS UPDATE

Sisters and Brothers:

The joint Alaska Airlines Negotiating Committee continued negotiations with Alaska Airlines management March 13-15, 2018, in Newark, New Jersey.

Represented by the Company were: Greg Mays, Vice President/Labor; Wayne Newton, Vice President/AOCS; Jeff Butler, Vice President/Inflight & Call Centers; Bob Hartnett, Labor Director; Denise Kliskey, COPS Labor Manager; Melinda Mayor, Division Controller; and, Rebecca Meissner, Company Attorney.

Joining your Negotiating Committee were: James Carlson, Assistant Airline Coordinator; and, Kris Hannah, Grand Lodge Representative.

Your Committee made proposals for the COPS Agreement for the following articles:

6 - Part Time

16 - Grievance Procedure

7 - Overtime

18 - General and Miscellaneous

8 - Holidays

LOA #5 - Prudhoe Bay

10 - Vacancies

In addition, the parties continued discussions involving Article 22 (Union Security) and a new proposed Article for Training.

Tentative Agreements were reached for Article 10 (Vacancies) and Article 16 (Grievance Procedure).

Your Committee has proposed, to date, 11 different articles for the COPS Agreement since opening in late January. While there has been much discussion regarding the numerous changes being sought (the contract proposals submitted by you — the membership), the pace has been frustratingly slow. Our discussions, though, do continue to bring us closer together on defining our open issues. Your solidarity and patience are of tremendous importance as we move forward with the negotiations process.

The next negotiations session is scheduled for May 1-3, 2018, and will be focused on the RSSA contract.

There is one source of official communications regarding these negotiations – that is those issued by your Negotiating Committee.

Remember: United we stand, divided we beg.

In Unity,

GENERAL CHAIR

Justin Bates (ANC)

Jesse Wilson (ANC)

Jason McAdoo (JNU) Dan Suafoa (SEA)

Enrique Rebollo (SEA) Nisha Chaudry (SFO) Jennifer Araujo (LAX) Jackson Hartsfield (LAX) Joe Shultz (PHX)

Linda Romaniello (FLL)

NEGOTIATING COMMITTEE

JT/slb

cc:

S. Pantoja

J. Tiberi

T. Klima

District 142 Executive Board

opeiu #277

POST ON ALL IAM BULLETIN BOARDS